Opinions wanted and needed!

Hi Blog Family,ktdk

You all frequently give me awesome advice and insight to chew on. So, I want to know what you think!

I will be traveling for a week in the beginning of May and need to board Kinley at our favorite place, The Dog Knowledge. So, I started to look into the training packages they offer (two birds, one stone). After exploring, they felt it best to do a 4 week live in training program.

It is 1,745.00 (about $62.00 a day) for 28 days. I have been going there for a long time and often when I drop her off for daycare they are training. It is a beautiful, calm, and happy environment. They do 6-10 training sessions a day, 15 minutes of training and 45 minutes of play.

The thought of not sleeping with her or seeing her face for 4 weeks is so daunting but they do allow you to come by anytime to watch training and of course send pictures. I know Kinley is a working breed and I have a feeling she would love it and it would build her confidence.

What do you guys think? Brutal honesty people, I have thick skin.

8 thoughts on “Opinions wanted and needed!

  1. If you have the option, board her at a place where you know that she is happy. She will not appreciate the finer points of a different place despite what you might think. If she has never been left for a long time before, then she needs to be introduced to her “new home” asap with regular visits so she can slowly adapt to you not being around. She needs to be totally at ease when the time comes, as do you. If you are stressed out taking her to her “temporary home”, she will sense it right away and react accordingly. Wherever you are going in May, you presumably don’t want to spend all waking hours worrying about Kinley!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a bias that training is something you do together, to make it most effective, so I guess I’d have a concern about her training for so long without you. Concerns that maybe she’d be trained great for their situation and system, but you’d be ill-equipped to replicate/reinforce that. But you know your challenges and situations better than anyone, so if your gut is telling you to go for it, don’t let me talk you out of it.

    Liked by 3 people

    • I totally agree. Training is a wonderful opportunity for dog and owner to interact and learn so much from each other. It is a huge bonding opportunity. Whenever somebody else trains your dog, you are effectively “out of the loop” with obvious potential difficulties.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I think you would both benefit by doing a training program together. You will both learn a lot that way and the trainer can explain problem areas to you and get your input. That is so important. You know your dog the best and your input is critical to effective training. Good luck with whatever you decide.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I always feel iffy about places that take the dog away from you and train them separately…I suppose it depends on how well you know this place, their methods, and how much you trust them.

    For me, personally, I wouldn’t want anyone else training my dogs, especially without me being there…

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I agree with all the other commenters about training together. Find a good trainer to train YOU on how to best train Kinley. The operative word there is that YOU will train Kinley. My daughter nannied a young child for a couple of years when he was 2 and 3 years old. She was with him most of the day almost every day because mom and dad (good parents) were too busy and felt it was best for him to have someone full time. The child began calling my daughter mommy which while the mom didn’t say so, it must have broken her heart. Kinley needs you to be the Mommy. Do yourself both a favor and find the time. You will not regret it.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. When people ask me to board and train their dog, I discourage them. Training is all about the relationship between the person and their dog. Yes I can train many behaviors much quicker and easier than they can, but it’s not really about that. It’s about them learning to communicate together. The only times I consider it a great idea: 1) if there are many young members in the family and so the household is ‘crazy’ some baseline learning may be helpful to jump start the process 2) if the owner is very old or physically incapable of doing things then it’s a good idea to have some manners taught and some cues understood 3) There’s a special/or alternative behavior that is desired and I have the willingness or tolerance and they don’t (ie water retrieves, something with timing/accuracy … or aggression, excessive barking) and they are afraid of swimming/water, too upset, or some other actual reason it might be better to do it without them initially. Mostly with #3, I want them involved from the get go.

    Otherwise, just like with any partnership the dog or the horse works up to the level of the handler … so the handler better get well educated.

    If the reason you’re considering sending her out for training is you don’t really like to train or you’re feeling stymied by behaviors, then I suggest finding a different training strategy … one you can enjoy wholeheartedly, one that sparks your creativity. Because new challenges accomplished are what keeps the relationship fresh and growing, instead of becoming dull and repetitive. If you think you don’t have the time…well that’s not really true is it. All the best to you both…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

